National | Media Release

NFU 45th National Convention elects Jan Slomp by acclamation

November 29, 2014, Saskatoon, SK – Jan Slomp of Rimby, Alberta was returned as President of the National Farmers Union (NFU), elected by acclamation at its 45th annual National Convention held in Saskatoon, November 27 to 29, 2014.

Also elected by acclamation were:

Ann Slater of St Marys, Ontario as NFU 1st Vice-President (Policy).

Glenn Tait of Meota, Saskatchewan as NFU 2nd Vice-President (Operations).

Coral Sproule of Perth, Ontario as NFU Women’s President.

Kathleen Charpentier of Castor, Albert as NFU Women’s Vice-President.

Alex Fletcher of Victoria, BC as NFU Youth President.

Ayla Fenton of Kingston, ON as NFU Youth Vice-President was elected.

The National Farmers Union was founded in 1969. It is a non-partisan, democratic, direct-membership family farm organization working for domestic and international policy environments that support small and medium sized farmers to be the primary producers of safe, healthy food in sustainable production systems.

– 30 –

For further information, please contact:

Carla Roppel, NFU Executive Director: (306) 652-9465; Cell: 306-229-3551

Jan Slomp, President: (403) 843-2068

Back to Top