Agricultural Greenhouse Gas Emissions in the Atlantic Provinces:

A Comprehensive Assessment

This report presents a single detailed picture of nearly all sources of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from agricultural production and production of associated farm inputs for the four Atlantic provinces: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador. 

This report builds on previous work by the NFU to compile comprehensive information on greenhouse gas emissions from Canadian agriculture. Please refer to the most recent edition of those reports for a more detailed description of each category of emissions as well as methodological notes and data sources.

Solutions to address the climate crisis in Canadian agriculture must understand the specific context of Atlantic Canada that this report provides: where exactly emissions are coming from and how they have changed over time.