National | Media Release

Jan Slomp re-elected President at 47th Annual NFU Convention

Saskatoon—Jan Slomp was re-elected President of the National Farmers Union at the 47th Annual National Convention held in Saskatoon November 24 to 26, 2016.

Results of the national officers elections are as follows:

Jan Slomp of Courtenay, BC, elected President
Coral Sproule of Perth, ON, acclaimed as Women’s President
Ayla Fenton of Kingston, ON, acclaimed as Youth President
Lydia Carpenter of Dunrea, MB, elected First Vice-President (Policy)
Cam Goff of Hanley, SK, acclaimed Second Vice-President (Operations)
Katie Ward of Woodlawn, ON, elected Women’s VIce-President
Dana Penrice of Lacombe, AB, elected Youth Vice-President

The National Farmers Union is a direct-membership voluntary organization made up of Canadian farm families who share common goals. It is the only farm organization incorporated through an Act of Parliament.

NFU members believe that the problems facing farmers are common problems and that farmers producing diverse products must work together to advance effective solutions. The NFU works toward the development of economic and social policies that will maintain the family farm as the primary food-producing unit in Canada.

Back to Top