National | News

Coral Sproule elected President at 48th Annual NFU Convention

Ottawa—Coral Sproule was elected President of the National Farmers Union at the 48th Annual National Convention held in Ottawa November 23 to 25, 2017. Results of the national officers elections are as follows:
  • Coral Sproule of Perth, ON, elected President
  • Katie Ward of Woodlawn, ON, acclaimed as Women’s President
  • Stuart Oke of Saint-Andre-Avellin, QC, elected as Youth President
  • Jan Slomp of Courtenay, BC, elected First Vice-President (Policy)
  • Cam Goff of Hanley, SK, elected Second Vice-President (Operations)
  • Shannon Jones of River Hebert, NS, elected Women’s Vice-President
  • Marta Reczek of Chilliwack, BC, acclaimed Youth Vice-President
The National Farmers Union is a direct-membership voluntary organization made up of Canadian farm families who share common goals. It is the only farm organization incorporated through an Act of Parliament.
NFU members believe that the problems facing farmers are common problems and that farmers producing diverse products must work together to advance effective solutions. The NFU works toward the development of economic and social policies that will maintain the family farm as the primary food-producing unit in Canada.