Steering Committee Report

- (1) That Dianne Dowling act as Convention Chairperson and Convention Co-Chairpersons shall be Kate Storey, Joan Brady and Brenda Hsueh
- (2) That visiting members have all privileges except moving, seconding and voting on resolutions and motions, or voting in elections.
- (3) That this convention be a safe space where all attendants feel relaxed and be able to fully express themselves without fear of being made to feel uncomfortable, unwelcome, or unsafe on account of biological sex, race/ethnicity, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, cultural background, religious affiliation, age, or physical or mental ability.
- (4) That this convention be open to the media and to guests except for the presentation of the financial statement and budget beginning Thursday, November 26th, 1:10 PM (Pacific Time).
- (5) The Board had appointed Ian Robson, Hilary Moore, and Rachelle Ternier to act on the Resolutions Committee.

 Ann Slater, and Bryan Dale have volunteered to represent the general membership of the Convention on the Resolutions Committee.
- (6) Any non-emergency resolutions shall be referred to the Resolutions Committee for presentation to the Convention if 2/3 majority of delegates voting approve that it be referred, provided they are received by the National Office by Saturday, November 21st. Emergency Resolutions from the floor must be introduced prior to 12:20 PM (Pacific Time) on Friday November 27th and may only be considered if deemed by the Steering Committee to be of an emergency nature.
- (7) That a time limit of two minutes per speaker be imposed when debating motions or resolutions, or asking questions.
- (8) That a time limit of 20 minutes per resolution be imposed.
- (9) That a seconder of a resolution has the privilege of opening and closing the debate. In the case of motions or amendments from the floor, the mover shall have the privilege of opening and/or closing debate.
- (10) If time permits, those who wish to speak twice may do so.
- (11) That the chairperson calls for an opposite view after hearing two speakers for or against a motion. If no opposing view is heard, the chairperson will call the question after affording the mover or seconder, as the case may be, the opportunity to close debate.
- (12) Delegates that have been issued credentials have been identified with a "D" in front of their name on the Zoom participant list. Only delegates may vote either by using the Zoom platform or by phone. Delegates who are having difficulty may phone Joan Lange at 306 652 9465 for technical support.
- (13) A delegate may call for a recount; however, such appeal for recount shall occur prior to the next order of business.
- (14) Coral Sproule, Glenn Norman, and Jessie MacInnis have been appointed to act as the Nominations Committee.

- (15) Joan Lange has been appointed to act as Returning Officer. Cathy Holtslander and Tim Lapp will act as an alternates.
- (16) Nominations for National Officers may be submitted to the Nominating Committee. Nominations received to date for the various National Officers will be displayed in the public Zoom chat and announced verbally by the Chairs periodically during the Convention. Delegates from a local may submit nominations to the Nominations Committee, with the consent of the nominee. Nominations may also be made from the floor of the Convention for any National Officer at the time nominations are called for on the agenda. A nominee who is nominated will be requested to declare his or her intent. Only nominees who have declared themselves candidates for office will be permitted to address the Convention. A five-minute time limit will be permitted. The order of declarations shall be reverse of the order of nominations.
- (17) If more than one candidate is offering for presidential position(s), the Steering Committee will establish a question period of the nominees.
- (18) Only credentialed delegates may vote in elections. Votes registered within 2 hours following the opening of the voting platform will be counted.
- (19) The seven elected National Officers shall require a clear majority to be elected. If more than two are running for any position and there is no clear majority on the first ballot, the one receiving the lowest number of votes shall be dropped and a second balloting held, etc.
- (20) Results of elections shall be announced to the Convention by the Returning Officer. Numbers are announced.
- (21) After each vote is decided, the Chairperson shall call for a motion to delete the electronic file where votes were recorded.
- (22) Materials to be displayed or circulated at the Convention must be approved by the Steering Committee.
- Online technology requires all attendees' microphones to be muted during panels and speakers. Attendees will be provided with instructions on how to reach out if they are muted and need to speak urgently (i.e. challenging the chair).
- Once adopted, rules of the Steering Committee can only be suspended or amended if 2/3 majority of voting delegates support a motion to suspend a rule or rules.
- (25) This Convention shall be governed by Parliamentary Procedure at a Glance (as recorded in O. Garfield Jones).

Steering Committee Co-Chairpersons: Katie Ward and Stewart Wells

<u>Steering Committee Members:</u> Katie Ward, Stuart Oke, Stewart Wells, Ayla Fenton, Byron Petrie, Seann Dory, Glenn Tait, and Glenn Norman