Besoin urgent de soutien pour augmenter la capacité des abattoirs locaux et régionaux
L'augmentation de la demande d'aliments produits localement, en particulier de viande, en réponse au COVID a été largement signalée partout au Canada. Cela a l'étoffe d'une réussite économique - une lueur d'espoir dans le nuage très sombre de la pandémie - mais un investissement sérieux et ciblé pour créer et étendre son infrastructure est nécessaire pour permettre à cette source émergente de prospérité locale de s'établir bien. En savoir plus
Les fonds d'urgence COVID peuvent aider à construire un système alimentaire plus robuste
La pandémie met en lumière les vulnérabilités de notre système alimentaire, offrant la possibilité d'utiliser des soutiens d'urgence pour jeter les bases d'un système alimentaire plus robuste et résilient. En savoir plus
Développer le secteur de la dinde en Alberta grâce à une production diversifiée pour des marchés de niche
Envoyée la lettre suivante aux producteurs de dindon albertains le mois de mai, 7, 2018: Objet: Développer le secteur de la dinde en Alberta grâce à une production diversifiée pour des marchés de niche Il a été porté à notre attention que la prochaine réunion du conseil d'administration de l'Alberta Turkey Producers pourrait envisager de réduire les coûts actuels. exemption de quota d'oiseaux 300 par année civile produite En savoir plus
Lettre de l'UNF concernant la stratégie nationale sur la santé des animaux d'élevage
Dans son rapport annuel 2007-2008, la Coalition canadienne de la santé animale (ACPS) déclare: «75% des maladies émergentes chez l'homme sont d'origine zoonotique» et reconnaît que les conséquences de la «santé animale» ne peuvent être strictement limitées à l'élevage. En savoir plus

Take Action: Save Supply Management – Support Bill C-216
Bill C-216 is a Private Member’s Bill that will be voted on in Canada’s Parliament. If it is passed into law, this short, simple bill will make it illegal for future trade agreements to give away any more access to our supply managed markets. Read more
NFU Submission on Bill C-216 Supply Management
The NFU supports Bill C-216, which would ensure that in all future trade agreement negotiations, the government of Canada would not commit to any further foreign access to Canadian supply-managed markets and would not lower or eliminate tariffs on supply-managed goods that are imported over and above existing Tariff Rate Quota (TRQ) levels. Read more
Urgent need for support to increase local and regional abattoir capacity
The increase in demand for locally produced food, particularly meat, in response to COVID has been widely reported all across Canada. This has the makings of an economic success story – a silver lining in the pandemic’s very dark cloud – but serious, targeted investment in to create and expand its infrastructure is needed to allow this emerging source of local prosperity to become well established. Read more
COVID emergency funds can help build a more robust food system
The pandemic shines a spotlight on vulnerabilities in our food system, providing the opportunity to use emergency supports to create the foundation for a more robust and resilient food system. Read more
Growing Alberta’s turkey sector through diversified production for niche markets
The sent the following letter to Alberta Turkey Producers on May 7, 2018: Re: Growing Alberta’s turkey sector through diversified production for niche markets It has come to our attention that the upcoming meeting of the Alberta Turkey Producers Board of Directors may consider reducing the current quota exemption from 300 birds per calendar year produced Read more
NFU letter regarding National Farmed Animal Health Strategy
The Canadian Animal Health Coalition (CAHC) states in its 2007-2008 annual report that: “75% of emerging human diseases are zoonotic in origin” and acknowledges that the implications of “animal health” cannot be confined strictly to animal agriculture. Read more
Back to Top